The speech…

En faisant du ménage dans ma paperesse d’organisation d’événements, une facette de moi qui semble maintenant faire partie du passé, j’ai retrouvé un discours écrit pour un party Sex and the City. Il y avait un temps où une de mes copines et moi organisions annuellement, parfois bi-annuellement, une soirée de filles sous le thème de l’émission culte de HBO. Je n’ai jamais vécu le train de vie des quatre protagonistes de l’émission, mais les valeurs de famille et d’amitié m’ont énormément rejointes et aidées dans ma vingtaine. Il n’y a qu’une émission de télévision qui a eu autant d’impact sur moi et c’est Sex and the CityEn retrouvant ce discours, je sentais le besoin de le partager ici, pour faire revivre et immortaliser l’importance que Sex and the City a eu sur cette partie de ma vie…

Voici donc ce discours, lu le 24 novembre 2007:

“In a society of lack of family and surrogate families, the Sex and the City family appealed to me. Though we know little about each character’s families, we know they consider each other and love each other as family. I have few people of my biological family around me, my mother’s side being all in the Philippines, and my Dad’s side not being very close to us. Consequently, I initially found comfort in the family of SATC because I have friends around me that are like family to me.

In the next to last episode, Carrie is about to leave for Paris and tells her friends: “What if I had never met you?” That line struck such a strong chord in me. It just feels good to have found oneself and know that you are surrounded by good people who love you and respect you. Though some of you I know little, some of you I know a lot, you are all here tonight because you are important to me or to someone else who is here, who is important to me. Therefore, in my eyes, you become important to me too. The last 2-3 years have been eventful and emotionally challenging. One of the things that have helped me go through this are the good people in my life, and knowing and feeling that I have good people in my life is a gift I cherish every single day… absofuckinglutely!

I firmly believe in the adage “you can’t choose your family, but you can choose your friends”. How I am happy that I have that choice, and though I might have made some bad choices in friendships in the past (as some of you have experienced me go through), I am happy to be smarter and less naïve in my choices now and mostly that I have chosen you, and that you have chosen me too!”

12 thoughts on “The speech…

    • Ça me fait plaisir! Je me sens un brin nostalgique ces temps-ci avec le déménagement qui approche et une partie importante de ma vie d’adulte, de femme, de mère qui a été vécue au 8181… ce ne seront que des souvenirs dans peu de temps!😉

      Like

Commentaires? Comments?

